US Army Corps of Engineers
Little Rock District Website

CORPS ANNOUNCES MARCH PROGRAMS AT DEWEY SHORT VISITOR CENTER

Published Feb. 27, 2017
Dewey Short Visitor Center

Dewey Short Visitor Center

BRANSON, Mo. -- Beginning March 1, the Army Corps of Engineers Dewey Short Visitor Center at Table Rock Lake will open seven days a week, Monday – Sunday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

A self-guided children’s activity area is available when the visitor center is open. In addition, several park ranger led programs are planned for the month of March.  All programs begin at the visitor center, are free, open to the public, and no registration is required.

A four-leaf clover hunt will take place on St. Patrick’s Day, March 17 at 4 p.m.  Have you ever found a four leaf clover? Join a ranger to learn a few facts about the four leaf clover and go on a clover hunt and it may be your lucky day!

Nature tales is held at 11 a.m. Tuesdays, March 7, 14, 21, and 28.  Join park rangers and volunteers for nature stories and activities. Each program will last about 30 minutes and include reading a nature themed story and hands-on activity.

Attend Mammal mania March 4, 5, 18, and 19 from 1-3 p.m.  Participants of all ages can test their mammal knowledge by matching furs, skulls, scat, and tracks.

Learn more about Table Rock Dam when you visit with a park ranger from 11-11:30 a.m. Wednesdays, March 1, 8, 15, 22, and 29 at the dam overlook off of Highway 165 (across the highway from Dewey Short Visitor Center).

Bring the family to the visitor center at 11 a.m. Mondays, March 13 and 20 to test your nature knowledge in a human-sized board game.

Don’t forget your camera for a spring hike at 11 a.m. Fridays, March 3, 10, 24, and 31 to learn about the blooming flowers and trees along the Lakeshore Trail.  The spring hike will also be at 1 p.m. Saturday March 25.  This hike will begin at the Lakeshore Trailhead.

An energy carnival will be held from 1-3 p.m. Saturday and Sunday March 11 and 12 at Dewey Short Visitor Center.  Form a team and challenge others at games to learn about energy, where it comes from and how to conserve it.

An animal sounds quiz will be given at 11 a.m. Thursdays, March 16, 23, and 30 at the Dewey Short Visitor Center.  Test your knowledge in a quiz game to see what you know about animal sounds.

Some programs may be cancelled because of weather.  For more information or to verify that a program has not been cancelled, please contact the visitor center at 501-340-1943.

All programs will begin at Dewey Short Visitor Center unless designated with an asterisk.

Wednesday March 1

11 a.m.

*Ranger at the Dam Overlook

Friday, March 3

11 a.m.

*Spring Hike

Saturday, March 4

1-3 p.m.

Mammal Mania

Sunday March 5

1-3 p.m.

Mammal Mania

Tuesday, March 7

11 a.m.

Storytime

Wednesday, March 8

11 a.m.

*Ranger at the Dam Overlook

Friday, March 10

11 a.m.

*Spring Hike

Saturday, March 11

1-3 p.m.

Energy Carnival

Sunday, Marth 12

1-3 p.m.

Energy Carnival

Monday, March 13

11 a.m.

Human Sized Board Game

Tuesday, March 14

11 a.m.

Storytime

Wednesday, March 15

11 a.m.

*Ranger at the Dam Overlook

Thursday, March 16

11 a.m.

Animal Sounds

Friday, March 17

4 p.m.

Four-Leaf Clover Hunt

Saturday, March 18

1-3 p.m.

Mammal Mania

Sunday, March 19

1-3 p.m.

Mammal Mania

Monday, March 20

11 a.m.

Human Sized Board Game

Tuesday, March 21

11 a.m.

Storytime

Wednesday, March 22

11 a.m.

*Ranger at the Dam Overlook

Thursday, March 23

11 a.m.

Animal Sounds

Friday, March 24

11 a.m.

*Spring Hike

Saturday, March 25

1 p.m.

*Spring Hike

Tuesday, March 28

11 a.m.

Storytime

Wednesday, March 29

11 a.m.

*Ranger at the Dam Overlook

Thursday, March 30

11 a.m.

Animal Sounds

Friday March 31

11 a.m.

*Spring Hike

 

 

 


Contact
Leah Deeds
501-340-1933

Release no. 17-018