Little Rock District Header Image

LITTLE ROCK DISTRICT

Home
Home > Media > News Releases

Bookmark and Share Email Print

Posted 9/28/2016

Release no. 108-16


Contact
Leah Deeds
501-324-1933

BRANSON, Mo. - The Army Corps of Engineers, Dewey Short Visitor Center at Table Rock Lake is offering several park ranger led programs through the end of October.  All programs are free, open to the public, and registration is only required for the “Night at the Museum” program on Oct. 21.  Unless otherwise noted, programs begin at Dewey Short Visitor Center.

A fall garden tour will be held at 10:30 a.m. on Thursdays, Oct. 6, 13, 20, and 27. Learn about native plants that grow in this region of Missouri and the benefits to having them in our gardens.

Guided nature hikes are scheduled at 10:30 a.m. on Mondays Oct. 3, 10, 17, 24, and 31.   Meet the park ranger at the Lakeshore Trailhead - accessible from the Dewey Short Visitor Center parking lot - to learn what lives in the woods along the trail.

A presentation on hydropower will be held at 3 p.m. on Tuesdays Oct. 4, 11, 18, and 25. Attend to learn about hydropower and how it is produced at Table Rock Dam.

Programs on mimicry and camouflage with be at 1 p.m. on Sundays, Oct. 2, 9, 16, 23, and 30. See how animals hide from predators and become better hunters.

Nature tales has moved to 11 a.m. on Tuesdays, Oct. 4, 11, 18, and 25.  Join park rangers and volunteers for nature stories and activities. Each program lasts 30 minutes and include reading a nature themed story and hands-on activity.

Survival/first aid stations are scheduled for 10:30 a.m. on Saturdays Oct. 8, 22, and 29. Do you think you know what to do if an emergency arises? Come learn some helpful tips that just might save someone’s life.

Learn more about Table Rock Dam when you visit with a park ranger from 11-11:30 a.m. on Wednesdays, Oct. 5, 12, 19, and 26 at the Dam Overlook off of Highway 165 (across the highway from Dewey Short Visitor Center).

Know your pollinators will be on Fridays, Oct. 7, 14, 21, and 28 at 1 p.m. Learn about the benefits of pollinators and tips you can use in your home garden.

Corps recreation is scheduled on Mondays, Oct. 3, 10, 17, 24, and 31 at 11:30 a.m.  Talk with a park ranger about the different recreational opportunities Table Rock Lake has to offer. 

Macro mania is a classroom adventure that introduces the use of stream macroinvertebrates to determine water quality. Saturdays Oct. 1, 8, 15, 22, and 29 at 3 p.m.

A tour of the visitor center highlighting the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design features will be held at 3 p.m. on Sundays, Oct. 2, 9, 16, 23, and 30.

Night at the museum will be held on Friday, Oct. 21 at 7 p.m.  Come to the visitor center at night for special Halloween themed programs.  Halloween costumes optional.  Please register by calling 501-340-1933 by noon Oct. 21.

National Public Lands Day is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 15 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. We will be giving a nature walk discussing the plants, animals, and birds you can see along the trail. You will also have the opportunity to pick up trash along the trail and the bank with the goal being "get a pass for a bag of trash" to earn a free park pass.

Some programs may be cancelled because of weather. For more information or to verify that a program has not been cancelled, please call the visitor center at 501-340-1943. The center is currently open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

All programs will begin at Dewey Short Visitor Center unless designated with a asterisk. Nature hikes will begin at the Lakeshore Trailhead accessible from the Dewey Short Visitor Center parking lot. Morning at the Dam Overlook will be held at the Dam Overlook off of Highway 165 across the highway from Dewey Short Visitor Center.

Saturday, Oct. 1

3 p.m.

Macro Mania

Sunday, Oct. 2

1 p.m.

Mimicry and Camouflage

Sunday, Oct. 2

3 p.m.

LEED Tour

Monday Oct. 3

10:30 a.m.

Guided Nature Hike*

Monday Oct. 3

11:30 a.m.

Corps Recreation

Tuesday, Oct. 4

11 a.m.

Nature Tales/Storytime

Tuesday, Oct. 4

3 p.m.

Hydropower

Wednesday, Oct. 5

11-11:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Dam Overlook*

Thursday, Oct. 6

10:30 a.m.

Fall Garden Tour

Friday, Oct. 7

1 p.m.

Know Your Pollinators

Saturday Oct. 8

10:30 a.m.

Survival/First Aid

Saturday Oct. 8

3 p.m.

Macro Mania

Sunday, Oct. 9

1 p.m.

Mimicry and Camouflage

Sunday Oct. 9

3 p.m.

LEED Tour

Monday Oct. 10

10:30 a.m.

Guided Nature Hike*

Monday Oct. 10

11:30 a.m.

Corps Recreation

Tuesday Oct. 11

11 a.m.

Nature Tales/Storytime

Tuesday Oct. 11

3 p.m.

Hydropower

Wednesday Oct. 12

11-11:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Dam Overlook*

Thursday Oct. 13

10:30 a.m.

Fall Garden Tour

Friday Oct. 14

1 p.m.

Know Your Pollinators

Saturday Oct. 15

10 -1 p.m.

National Public Lands Day*

Saturday Oct. 15

3 p.m.

Macro Mania

Sunday Oct. 16

1 p.m.

Mimicry and Camouflage

Sunday Oct. 16

3 p.m.

LEED Tour

Monday Oct. 17

10:30 p.m.

Guided Nature Hike*

Monday Oct. 17

11:30 a.m.

Corps Recreation

Tuesday Oct. 18

11 a.m.

Nature Tales/Storytime

Tuesday Oct. 18

3 p.m.

Hydropower

Wednesday Oct. 19

11-11:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Dam Overlook*

Thursday Oct. 20

10:30 a.m.

Fall Garden Tour

Friday Oct. 21

1 p.m.

Know Your Pollinators

Friday Oct. 21

7 p.m.

Night at the Museum (must register)

Saturday Oct. 22

10:30 a.m.

Survival/First Aid

Saturday Oct. 22

3 p.m.

Macro Mania

Sunday Oct. 23

1 p.m.

Mimicry and Camouflage

Sunday Oct. 23

3 p.m.

LEED Tour

Monday Oct. 24

10:30 a.m.

Guided Nature Hike*

 

Monday Oct. 24

11:30 a.m.

Corps Recreation

Tuesday Oct. 25

11 a.m.

Nature Tales/Storytime

Tuesday Oct. 25

3 p.m.

Hydropower

 

Wednesday Oct. 26

11-11:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Dam Overlook*

Thursday Oct. 27

10:30 a.m.

Fall Garden Tour

Friday Oct. 28

1 p.m.

Know Your Pollinators

Saturday Oct. 29

10:30 a.m.

Survival/First Aid

Saturday Oct. 29

3 p.m.

Macro Mania

Sunday Oct. 30

1 p.m.

Mimicry and Camouflage

Sunday Oct. 30

3 p.m.

LEED Tour

 

Monday October 31

10:30 a.m.

Guided Nature Hike*

Monday October 31

11:30 a.m.

Corps Recreation