Little Rock District Header Image

LITTLE ROCK DISTRICT

Home
Home > Media > News Releases

Bookmark and Share Email Print

Posted 6/28/2017

Release no. 17-129


Contact
Leah Deeds
501-340-1933

BRANSON, Mo. - Several park ranger led programs are planned at the Dewey Short Visitor Center during the month of July.  Unless otherwise noted, programs begin at the visitor center, are free, open to the public, and no registration is required.

The Dewey Short Visitor Center is open daily 10 a.m. -5 p.m.  It is located just south of Table Rock Dam on State Highway 165.  The visitor center offers interactive displays, a 22-minute movie, and viewing decks overlooking Table Rock Lake and dam. Picnic facilities and a 2.2 mile asphalt surface trail are located on the visitor center grounds.

Every Tuesday at 11 a.m., join park rangers and volunteers at Dewey Short Visitor Center for nature stories and activities. Each program will last 30 minutes and includes reading a nature themed story and hands-on activity.

Every Wednesday in July from 9-9:30 a.m., meet a park ranger at the dam overlook across Highway 165 from Dewey Short Visitor Center to learn about the dam and Table Rock Lake.

Every Friday in July at 10 a.m., join a ranger led hike on the lakeshore trail to learn more about native plants and animals.  The hike leaves from the lakeshore trailhead.

Every Saturday water quality program will be held at 10:30 a.m.  Learn about what types of organisms are living in Table Rock Lake. Come prepared to get a little wet; water shoes are recommended. 

Every Sunday in July, join a ranger at 1 p.m. to discover how the Ozark Mountains came to be and learn more about local geology.

           Thursday, July 6 at 1 p.m., join a park ranger to learn about the history and modern missions of the dams on the upper White River.

Thursday, July 13 at 1 p.m., explore construction photos of Table Rock Dam to learn about hydropower and how it is produced at Table Rock Dam.     

Thursday, July 20 at 1 p.m. learn about some of the factors that influence flooding.  Review the spring 2017 flood at Table Rock Lake.

Thursday, July 27 at 10 a.m. join a park ranger on a short walk around the flowerbeds to see what kind of animals you can find.

                Some programs may be cancelled because of weather.  For more information or to verify that a program has not been cancelled, please contact the visitor center at 501-340-1943.

All programs will begin at Dewey Short Visitor Center unless designated with an asterisk.

 

 

 

Saturday, July 1

10:30 a.m.

Water Quality

Sunday, July 2

1 p.m.

Geology of the Ozarks

Tuesday, July 4

11 a.m.

Nature Tales

Wednesday, July 5

9-9:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Overlook*

Thursday, July 6

1 p.m.

Dams on the White River

Friday, July 7

10 a.m.

Lakeshore Trail Hike*

Saturday, July 8

10:30 a.m.

Water Quality

Sunday, July 9

1 p.m.

Geology of the Ozarks

Tuesday, July 11

11 a.m.

Nature Tales

Wednesday, July 12

9-9:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Overlook*

Thursday, July 13

1 p.m.

Hydropower

Friday, July 14

10 a.m.

Lakeshore Trail Hike*

Saturday, July 15

10:30 a.m.

Water Quality

Sunday, July 16

1 p.m.

Geology of the Ozarks

Tuesday, July 18

11 a.m.

Nature Tales

Wednesday, July 19

9-9:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Overlook*

Thursday, July 20

1 p.m.

What is a flood?

Friday, July 21

10 a.m.

Lakeshore Trail Hike*

Saturday, July 22

10:30 a.m.

Water Quality

Sunday, July 23

1 p.m.

Geology of the Ozarks

Tuesday, July 25

11 a.m.

Nature Tales

Wednesday, July 26

9-9:30 a.m.

Ranger at the Overlook*

Thursday, July 27

10 a.m.

Flowerbed Safari

Friday, July 28

10 a.m.

Lakeshore Trail Hike*

Saturday, July 29

10:30 a.m.

Water Quality

Sunday, July 30

1 p.m.

Geology of the Ozarks